On this page
- Compare at a glance
- The picks
- How we picked
- What SACC means for a portable AC
- Single-hose vs dual-hose portables
- Noise and where you place the unit
- Drainage and water handling
- Controls, apps and scheduling
- Questions people ask
This guide is based on published specifications only. We ranked portable units by the seasonally adjusted cooling capacity figure the maker lists, not by the larger BTU number that appears in product names. No unit was handled.
Compare at a glance
| Model | Type | Rated cooling | Room size | Rated noise | ENERGY STAR | Buy |
|---|
| Midea Inverter Duo 14,000 BTU Portable | Portable | 12,000 BTU SACC | Up to 550 sq ft | Not listed | Not listed | Check price on Amazon |
|---|
| Dreo 740S 14,000 BTU | Portable | 10,000 BTU SACC | Up to 200 sq ft | 42 dB | Not listed | Check price on Amazon |
|---|
| Dreo 516S 14,000 BTU | Portable | 10,000 BTU SACC | Up to 200 sq ft | Not listed | Not listed | Check price on Amazon |
|---|
| BLACK+DECKER BPACT12WT 12,000 BTU | Portable | 8,000 BTU SACC | Up to 500 sq ft | Not listed | Not listed | Check price on Amazon |
|---|
| Dreo 515S 12,000 BTU | Portable | 8,000 BTU SACC | Up to 150 sq ft | Not listed | Not listed | Check price on Amazon |
|---|
| Tosot 10,200 BTU Portable | Portable | 6,200 BTU SACC | Up to 400 sq ft | Not listed | Not listed | Check price on Amazon |
|---|
| Dreo 319S 10,000 BTU | Portable | 6,000 BTU SACC | Up to 100 sq ft | Not listed | Not listed | Check price on Amazon |
|---|
| BLACK+DECKER BPACT10WT 10,000 BTU | Portable | 5,500 BTU SACC | Up to 450 sq ft | Not listed | Not listed | Check price on Amazon |
|---|
| BLACK+DECKER BPACT08WT 9,000 BTU | Portable | 5,300 BTU SACC | Up to 400 sq ft | Not listed | Not listed | Check price on Amazon |
|---|
| BLACK+DECKER BPP05WTB 8,000 BTU | Portable | 5,000 BTU SACC | Up to 350 sq ft | Not listed | Not listed | Check price on Amazon |
|---|
| BLACK+DECKER BPT05WTB 7,500 BTU | Portable | 5,000 BTU SACC | Up to 350 sq ft | Not listed | Not listed | Check price on Amazon |
|---|
Specs are the figures each maker lists. "Not listed" means we have no published figure yet.
The picks
No. 1Strongest SACC rating
Midea Inverter Duo 14,000 BTU Portable
- Type
- Portable
- Rated cooling
- 12,000 BTU SACC
- Room size
- Up to 550 sq ft
- Rated noise
- Not listed
- ENERGY STAR
- Not listed
This unit has the highest seasonally adjusted cooling capacity in the group at 12,000. The maker lists coverage up to 550 sq ft, a 42 db noise level and an inverter compressor with a heating function.
Why it made the list
- 12,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity
- Maker lists coverage up to 550 sq ft
- 42 db noise level
- Inverter compressor and heating function
Trade-offs
- 77.2 pounds, heavier than many portables
- 1300 watts listed
- Large cabinet at 34.48 inches tall
Good fit if
- Large living rooms or open areas
- Rooms where heat mode is useful
Skip if
- You need a lighter unit to move often
- You want a smaller footprint
Bottom line: This is the top pick for buyers who want the highest seasonally adjusted cooling capacity in this group.
Check price on AmazonNo. 2Quiet dual-hose pick
Dreo 740S 14,000 BTU
- Type
- Portable
- Rated cooling
- 10,000 BTU SACC
- Room size
- Up to 200 sq ft
- Rated noise
- 42 dB
- ENERGY STAR
- Not listed
This Dreo 740S 14,000 BTU matches the next pick on seasonally adjusted cooling capacity at 10,000, but it lists a dual-hose design, a 42 db noise level and a lighter 55.4 pound weight. It has less cooling capacity than the top pick.
Why it made the list
- 10,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity
- 42 db noise level
- Dual-hose design
- 55.4 pounds
Trade-offs
- 1540 watts listed
- Heat mode not stated by the maker
- Square footage not stated by the maker
Good fit if
- Bedrooms where low noise matters
- Rooms where a dual-hose setup is preferred
Skip if
- You need heat mode
- You want the highest SACC in this group
Bottom line: A strong mid-size pick for buyers who prioritize quiet operation and a dual-hose design.
Check price on AmazonNo. 3App and voice control
Dreo 516S 14,000 BTU
- Type
- Portable
- Rated cooling
- 10,000 BTU SACC
- Room size
- Up to 200 sq ft
- Rated noise
- Not listed
- ENERGY STAR
- Not listed
This Dreo 516S 14,000 BTU has the same 10,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity as the pick above, but it lists a 45 db noise level and a heavier 65.8 pound weight. It adds app, remote, touch and voice control.
Why it made the list
- 10,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity
- App, remote, touch and voice control
- 45 db noise level
- Drainage-free in cool mode
Trade-offs
- 65.8 pounds
- 1500 watts listed
- Square footage not stated by the maker
Good fit if
- Smart home users who want voice control
- Rooms where app scheduling is useful
Skip if
- You want the lightest unit
- You prefer a dual-hose design
Bottom line: A solid pick for buyers who want strong cooling with app and voice control.
Check price on AmazonNo. 4Lightweight mid-size pick
BLACK+DECKER BPACT12WT 12,000 BTU
- Type
- Portable
- Rated cooling
- 8,000 BTU SACC
- Room size
- Up to 500 sq ft
- Rated noise
- Not listed
- ENERGY STAR
- Not listed
This BLACK+DECKER BPACT12WT 12,000 BTU has an 8,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity and a maker-listed coverage up to 550 sq ft. It weighs 28 pounds, much lighter than the picks above, but it lists a louder 54 db noise level.
Why it made the list
- 8,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity
- Maker lists coverage up to 550 sq ft
- 28 pounds
- Remote control included
Trade-offs
- 54 db noise level
- App control not stated by the maker
Good fit if
- Rooms up to 550 sq ft
- Buyers who want a light unit to move
Skip if
- You need quiet operation
- You want app or voice control
Bottom line: A practical mid-size pick for buyers who value low weight and a listed room size.
Check price on AmazonNo. 5Quiet app-controlled pick
Dreo 515S 12,000 BTU
- Type
- Portable
- Rated cooling
- 8,000 BTU SACC
- Room size
- Up to 150 sq ft
- Rated noise
- Not listed
- ENERGY STAR
- Not listed
This Dreo 515S 12,000 BTU matches the pick above on seasonally adjusted cooling capacity at 8,000, but it lists a quieter 45 db noise level and adds app, remote, touch and voice control. It weighs 62.9 pounds and lists a higher seasonally adjusted cooling capacity than the next pick.
Why it made the list
- 8,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity
- 45 db noise level
- App, remote, touch and voice control
- Drainage-free in cool mode
Trade-offs
- 62.9 pounds
- 1500 watts listed
- Square footage not stated by the maker
Good fit if
- Bedrooms or offices where noise matters
- Smart home users who want app control
Skip if
- You need the lightest unit
- You need a listed room size
Bottom line: A quiet mid-size pick with strong smart controls.
Check price on AmazonNo. 6Compact WiFi pick
Tosot 10,200 BTU Portable
- Type
- Portable
- Rated cooling
- 6,200 BTU SACC
- Room size
- Up to 400 sq ft
- Rated noise
- Not listed
- ENERGY STAR
- Not listed
This Tosot 10,200 BTU Portable has a 6,200 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity and a maker-listed coverage up to 400 sq ft. It lists 930 watts and WiFi control, and it lists a higher seasonally adjusted cooling capacity than the next pick.
Why it made the list
- 6,200 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity
- Maker lists coverage up to 400 sq ft
- 930 watts listed
- WiFi enabled
Trade-offs
- 51 db noise level
- Weight not stated by the maker
- Heat mode not stated by the maker
Good fit if
- Small rooms up to 400 sq ft
- Buyers who want WiFi control
Skip if
- You need the quietest unit
- You need a listed weight
Bottom line: A compact WiFi-enabled pick for smaller rooms.
Check price on AmazonNo. 7Quiet small-room pick
Dreo 319S 10,000 BTU
- Type
- Portable
- Rated cooling
- 6,000 BTU SACC
- Room size
- Up to 100 sq ft
- Rated noise
- Not listed
- ENERGY STAR
- Not listed
This Dreo 319S 10,000 BTU has a 6,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity and a 45 db noise listing. It adds app, remote, touch and voice control, and it lists a higher seasonally adjusted cooling capacity than the next pick.
Why it made the list
- 6,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity
- 45 db noise level
- App, remote, touch and voice control
- Drainage-free in cool mode
Trade-offs
- 1500 watts listed
- 57.2 pounds
- Square footage not stated by the maker
Good fit if
- Small rooms or bedrooms
- Smart home users who want voice control
Skip if
- You need a listed room size
- You want the lightest unit
Bottom line: A quiet small-room pick with broad control options.
Check price on AmazonNo. 83-in-1 small-room pick
BLACK+DECKER BPACT10WT 10,000 BTU
- Type
- Portable
- Rated cooling
- 5,500 BTU SACC
- Room size
- Up to 450 sq ft
- Rated noise
- Not listed
- ENERGY STAR
- Not listed
This BLACK+DECKER BPACT10WT 10,000 BTU has a 5,500 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity and a maker-listed coverage up to 450 sq ft. It includes 3-in-1 cooling, dehumidifying and fan modes, and it lists a higher seasonally adjusted cooling capacity than the next pick.
Why it made the list
- 5,500 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity
- Maker lists coverage up to 450 sq ft
- 3-in-1 cooling, dehumidifying and fan modes
- 47.3 pounds
Trade-offs
- 54 db noise level
- 1220 watts listed
- App control not stated by the maker
Good fit if
- Rooms up to 450 sq ft
- Buyers who want a 3-in-1 unit
Skip if
- You need quiet operation
- You want app or voice control
Bottom line: A practical 3-in-1 pick for small to medium rooms.
Check price on AmazonNo. 9Lower-wattage small-room pick
BLACK+DECKER BPACT08WT 9,000 BTU
- Type
- Portable
- Rated cooling
- 5,300 BTU SACC
- Room size
- Up to 400 sq ft
- Rated noise
- Not listed
- ENERGY STAR
- Not listed
This BLACK+DECKER BPACT08WT 9,000 BTU has a 5,300 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity and a maker-listed coverage up to 400 sq ft. It lists 950 watts and 45.8 pounds, and it lists a higher seasonally adjusted cooling capacity than the next pick.
Why it made the list
- 5,300 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity
- Maker lists coverage up to 400 sq ft
- 950 watts listed
- 45.8 pounds
Trade-offs
- 54 db noise level
- App control not stated by the maker
- 3-in-1 mode not stated by the maker
Good fit if
- Rooms up to 400 sq ft
- Buyers who want a lower-wattage unit
Skip if
- You need the quietest unit
- You want smart controls
Bottom line: A straightforward small-room pick with a listed room size and moderate wattage.
Check price on AmazonNo. 10Lowest-wattage pick
BLACK+DECKER BPP05WTB 8,000 BTU
- Type
- Portable
- Rated cooling
- 5,000 BTU SACC
- Room size
- Up to 350 sq ft
- Rated noise
- Not listed
- ENERGY STAR
- Not listed
This BLACK+DECKER BPP05WTB 8,000 BTU has a 5,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity and a maker-listed coverage up to 350 sq ft. It lists 860 watts, the lowest in this group, and a 52 db noise level.
Why it made the list
- 5,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity
- Maker lists coverage up to 350 sq ft
- 860 watts listed
- 52 db noise level
Trade-offs
- 51.1 pounds
- App control not stated by the maker
- 3-in-1 mode not stated by the maker
Good fit if
- Small rooms up to 350 sq ft
- Buyers who want the lowest listed wattage in this group
Skip if
- You need a larger coverage area
- You want smart controls
Bottom line: A lower-wattage small-room pick with a listed room size.
Check price on AmazonNo. 11Compact 300 sq ft pick
BLACK+DECKER BPT05WTB 7,500 BTU
- Type
- Portable
- Rated cooling
- 5,000 BTU SACC
- Room size
- Up to 350 sq ft
- Rated noise
- Not listed
- ENERGY STAR
- Not listed
This BLACK+DECKER BPT05WTB 7,500 BTU has a 5,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity and a maker-listed coverage up to 300 sq ft. It lists 890 watts and a 53 db noise level, but no weight figure.
Why it made the list
- 5,000 seasonally adjusted cooling capacity
- Maker lists coverage up to 300 sq ft
- 890 watts listed
- Remote control included
Trade-offs
- 53 db noise level
- Weight not stated by the maker
- App control not stated by the maker
Good fit if
- Small rooms up to 300 sq ft
- Buyers who want a compact unit
Skip if
- You need a larger coverage area
- You want smart controls
Bottom line: A compact small-room pick for spaces up to 300 sq ft.
Check price on AmazonHow we picked
We compared portable air conditioners from the catalog using the seasonally adjusted cooling capacity figure each maker lists. For portables, that figure reflects the DOE rating method and is the only number we use to rank and compare units. When two units list the same figure, the one that states more specifications wins the tie.
We did not handle any of these units. Every number in the picks comes from the maker's published specifications or the sources cited below. Units without a published seasonally adjusted cooling capacity were not ranked against the others.
What SACC means for a portable AC
Seasonally adjusted cooling capacity, often shortened to SACC, is the U.S. Department of Energy figure for portable air conditioners. Makers work it out with the DOE rating method for portables, and a higher SACC figure means more cooling capacity under that method.
Whynter explains that the newer DOE rating method gives lower numbers than older models showed, while the actual cooling capacity has not changed, so SACC is the fair number for comparing portables. The maker's BTU figure still appears in product names, but we do not use it to rank portables against one another. For more on the difference, see What BTU and SACC Ratings Mean on a Room AC.
Single-hose vs dual-hose portables
A single-hose portable sends its hot exhaust air outside through one hose, and Whynter's manuals say that hose must vent outside in cool mode. A dual-hose model adds a second hose for intake air, as on Whynter's NEX dual hose models.
Whynter advises that on a dual-hose model, the intake hose can be taken off when the outdoor air is very humid or during rain. The Dreo 740S 14,000 BTU lists a dual-hose design, while the other picks do not state a dual-hose design. For a fuller comparison, see Single-Hose vs Dual-Hose Portable ACs.
Noise and where you place the unit
The noise listing on a portable air conditioner is measured in decibels. Among our picks, the quietest listings are 42 db on the Midea Inverter Duo 14,000 BTU Portable and the Dreo 740S 14,000 BTU, while several BLACK+DECKER models list 54 db. A lower number usually means less fan and compressor sound in the room.
Placement matters too. For a very noisy unit, Whynter's troubleshooting page says to move it to a level, hard floor and to keep the air intake and exhaust clear. For a bedroom, compare the maker's noise listings above.
Drainage and water handling
Midea's portable FAQ says the water collects in an internal pan and leaves through the exhaust hose as vapor, and that the unit occasionally needs draining in humid rooms. Some picks, such as the Dreo 516S 14,000 BTU and Dreo 319S 10,000 BTU, list drainage-free operation in cool mode.
When the tray fills, the unit may stop cooling and show a full-tank message. The owner's manual for the model gives the exact drain procedure. For a general look at how portables handle water, see How a Portable AC Handles the Water It Collects.
Controls, apps and scheduling
Every pick here lists a remote, and several add app, voice or touch control. The Dreo 516S 14,000 BTU and Dreo 319S 10,000 BTU list app, remote, touch and voice control, while the Midea Inverter Duo 14,000 BTU Portable adds voice control and a push-button panel.
App control is useful for scheduling changes from another room or turning the unit on before you get home. If you prefer a simple remote, the BLACK+DECKER BPACT12WT 12,000 BTU and BLACK+DECKER BPACT10WT 10,000 BTU keep the controls basic. See Wi-Fi Room ACs and Their Apps for what to expect.
Related: Best Window Air Conditioners: Window AC Reviews by Spec · Best Window Air Conditioner for Bedroom: Quiet AC Reviews · Best Air Conditioner for Small Room: Small Room AC Reviews · Best Air Conditioner for Large Room: Large Room AC Reviews
Questions people ask
What is the difference between BTU and SACC on a portable air conditioner?
BTU is the cooling capacity the maker lists in the product name, while SACC is the seasonally adjusted cooling capacity figure from the U.S. Department of Energy. Every SACC figure comes from the same DOE rating method, so it is the fair number for comparing one portable with another. We rank portables on SACC only.
Do you need a dual-hose portable air conditioner?
Not necessarily. Rank portables on SACC first, then read the hose design as a listed feature. A dual-hose model adds an intake hose, and Whynter says to remove it when the outside humidity is high or it is raining.
How do you know what capacity you need for your room?
Measure the room's floor area, read the capacity from the ENERGY STAR chart, then adjust it as ENERGY STAR describes: 10 percent less for a heavily shaded room, 10 percent more for a very sunny one, 600 BTUs for each person beyond two and 4,000 BTUs for a kitchen. Our Choosing the Right BTU for Your Room Size guide walks through the steps. For a portable, compare the maker's listed room size and its SACC figure, never the box BTU.
Will a portable air conditioner need to be drained?
Midea's portable FAQ says the collected water leaves through the exhaust hose as vapor and that the unit occasionally needs draining in humid rooms. Some models list drainage-free operation in cool mode. When the tray is full, the unit may stop cooling and show a full-tank message. The owner's manual for your model gives the exact drain steps.
Are these portable air conditioners quiet enough for a bedroom?
The quietest picks in this guide list 42 db or 45 db, while several BLACK+DECKER models list 54 db. Placement also matters: Whynter says to set a noisy unit on a level, hard floor and keep the air intake and exhaust clear.
Last updated November 6, 2026